top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaddIndies Creator

INTERVIEW: The Creator Behind Reclaim

Updated: Oct 21, 2021

Get to know the creator behind the Medieval, Historic Fantasy, webcomic 'Reclaim'

Art & story by Saga Holmgård.



Synopsis

After a successful coup dethrones the emperor, Albus has to save his father and reclaim their empire from the power-hungry witch warrior Irene. But with just him and his bodyguard Styrka against the entire force of the empire, how can they hope to stand a chance?

And what was the real reason for the coup in the first place?



Interview


How long have you been creating comic books?


I have been working on longer, committed comic projects for about five years, but I've been drawing comics for as long as I can remember!





What inspirations did you have behind this project?


Honestly, my first inspiration was that I wanted to make a cool action scene, and I kept imagining it in my head. Around that, the story developed, about this prince and his bodyguard fleeing when evil powers take over his land. As I started writing the story, a lot of inspiration came from researching for the setting and time where I wanted my story to take place - I came up with a lot of plot points because of some fun historic trivia I found out!


What are the main themes behind the series?


It's a story about staying together when times are rough, and when you may not agree with your significant other about what to do.

And it's a story about admitting that you were wrong and working towards becoming a better person and doing what you can to make the people around you happier.


What do you have to say about a certain character from your series?


It's the first time I've really fallen in love with my own characters! Styrka is one of the main characters, and I've poured so much into her. She's a buff and capable woman, but she struggles and worries a lot, which I can relate to.




How do you come up with the characters in your story?


They're all created to support one another, story-wise. The story needs characters with relationships, backstories, and feelings that will push the narrative forward and hopefully make it more interesting to read about. It's important to me that they all have motives, faults, and strengths. The more characters that the readers can like and relate to, the better!


How long do you plan for this series to run?


I had a clear goal while writing the script that I would be able to finish drawing within 5 years. My goal is to reach the end sometime in 2025, which is actually a bit longer than my original goal. Hopefully, I can keep up the pace until then!


Any teasers you want to give your readers?


I hope they're ready for both actions and feels! Because there's plenty of that moving forward!


Anything else you want your readers to know?


It warms my heart every time someone mentions that they read my comic. Thank you all so much for your support! This really is a passion project, but all of you mean so much for my will to keep going.




Support The Creator


Where can we read it:


Social media:



ABOUT ME

My name is Imani aka MaddMoniArt, I’m the creator of the psychological thriller manga Bleakville, and the founder of MaddIndies, a blog where I review and support independent webcomics. Go behind-the-scenes into the creative process of Art & Comics with me, as I draw stuff, review webcomics, interview other creators, share techniques, and try to create my own manga.

Follow me on Instagram @MaddMoniArt

Watch me on YouTube.com/maddmoniart



8 views0 comments
Purple Cyber Monday Sale Announcements W
maddindeis banner.png
Imani Phillips,
artist, designer, creator bleakville, founder of maddindies
me2022.jpeg
Ko-fi_logo_RGB_Outline.png
exclusive merch ad.png
bottom of page