top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaddIndies Creator

INTERVIEW: The Creator Behind Veraque

Updated: Aug 22, 2021

Get to know the creator behind the rising Superhero, Action, webcomic series, "VERAQUE" created by Verrell_Rain. Available to read on Webtoon.



Synopsis

A person's Superpowers are determined by their ancestry; that is the reality of this world; the world's truth. That truth is influenced by one universal law: the winds of change are not blown by the weak. An infamous, 25-year-old vigilante opposes the vile leader of a genocidal movement to exact revenge but also seeks to destroy the evils that helped created that movement in the first place. Unfortunately, the clash of these forces consumes the entire world in the calamity of their conflict.



INTERVIEW


How long have you been creating comic books?

I have been writing since 2018. It wasn't until late 2019 that I decided to make my novel Veraque (originally called Colorum) a comic book.


What inspirations did you have behind this project?

What inspired this story was a variety of Anime and Manga (Attack on Titan, My Hero Academia, Hunter x Hunter and Monster are the main ones) as well as some of my own gripes about how empathy is written in western media.




What are the main themes behind the series?

The main theme behind this series is empathy, why it is an important aspect of a human being, and why it's something we should always carry no matter whom we are dealing with.


What do you have to say about a certain character from your series?

There's a lot more to Chibimask than many of you think!


How do you come up with the characters in your story?

Well, Veraque was actually going to be an Overwatch Fanfiction but I had so many original ideas that I decided to make it its own thing. Gama was going to be how I wrote Hana Song aka DVa but they are very different. Chibimask was originally a brolic fire-wielding tank character but I didn't like the design once it became its own story. Jae-Sun was... just made up as Gama's male figure





How long are you planning this series to run?

Well... I'll put it this way. The novel Veraque 200,000 words and it wasn't done. I was at the second to last arc before I decided to rewrite it as a comic book. At the pace we are at right now we will finish the first arc in 2022 unless my artist and I could somehow move faster

So...10 years maybe? Idk. I just want to tell the story.


Any teasers you want to give your readers?

Wait until you guys meet the actual villain of this series and who Chibimask is.


Anything else you want your readers to know?

Enjoy the ride and thank you for supporting me! I'll do my best to keep this story coming and who knows? Maybe it'll become an anime one day!


Support The Creator







ABOUT ME

My name is Imani Phillps AKA MaddMoniArt I’m an Artist & Photographer of Realistic Portraits & Sceneries & a Comic Creator myself, currently working on a psychological thriller MANGA called “Bleakville”. (Following the life of a world-famous animal rescuer.)


I’m here to share that creation process. With COMIC TIPS, TECHNIQUES, INTERVIEWS, with creators, and REVIEWS of INDIE WEBCOMICS and MANGA that YOU PROBABLY NEVER HEARD OF.


13 views0 comments
Purple Cyber Monday Sale Announcements W
maddindeis banner.png
Imani Phillips,
artist, designer, creator bleakville, founder of maddindies
me2022.jpeg
Ko-fi_logo_RGB_Outline.png
exclusive merch ad.png
bottom of page