top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaddIndies Creator

Tenacity Action, Sci-fi Webtoon REVIEW + Interview

A webcomic I feel is about discrimination, hate crimes, and friendship, Tenacity will get you hooked with great pacing, fun characters, and stunning artwork. Tenacity is an action, Sci-fi webtoon created by Paige Critchlow. I finally got a chance to read and write a "Spoiler Free" review of her series. I read the first two completed chapters and the first two episodes of chapter 3. Along with the review, I got the opportunity to interview Paige Critchlow about her series.





Synopsis


To stop an incoming threat, mankind created several new subspecies of humans, some even with supernatural abilities. Decades after this threat was stopped, Kinley and her friends must find ways to navigate and survive a society that now regrets their existence. Trouble begins when one of their own gets caught up in a situation bigger than any issue they've ever faced.


Review


Story

Tenacity has themes of discrimination, friendship, along with a slice-of-life element that connects with the characters. The pacing will get you hooked because the scenes in the opening chapter are real tense, gradually keeping you hyped, wanting to read more. Each episode gives you just enough panels, it isn't too long or too short. I'd say it's worth binge reading.

The world-building is modern futuristic, nothing too out of the ordinary except for a Bounty drop-off that resembles an ATM machine. The everyday life of Mutants living among us, wearing street clothes, on their smartphones, some trying to hide their horns, and tails... It's pretty believable.



The plot I believe comes later and I don't want to spoil anything significant so I'll just refer back to the theme, which is obviously about these creatures who aren't welcome into society. When it comes to "originality" the story has to do with the government creating a group of mutants, like X-men, for example.


Let me know in the comments if you know any other comics that have similarities.
I've reviewed two webcomics already about teen mutants check them out here:



Characters

Kinley is the main protagonist of Tenacity and yes she's a mutant but she acts like a normal teenager. She is hasty, and irresponsible, unlike her older brother Yuriah. He has my favorite character archetype "The Protective Older Brother". By Chapter 2 we are getting the know the bond these characters have with each other and the conversations between them are really natural. Willow, the youngest one of the group is the most precious. The characters a very relatable, even when it comes to everyday things like eating delicious food, doing homework, babysitting, and chilling together at home.



Art

Each panel is wonderfully consistent, overly done in a good, almost like watching an animation because of the use of small panels, same scene but in different camera angles. There is a ton of detail in each panel. The city is brought to life with pedestrians. Little detail like household items, trash in the alleyways, makes the environment realistic. Little words needed to be used to have intensity in the scenes.

Motion blur, action lines, give the scene speed and movement. The tone can switch up from heartwarming moments to action-packed as menacing looking thugs or innocent characters look like cinnamon rolls. The linework, color, and shading is top tier.



Conclusion

One of my top favorite Webtoon Series I genuinely mean it. The storytelling always has good attention to detail once again not giving you too much but at the same time, I feel like I know everything that's going. Yuriah and Willow are my favorite characters, I hope to see more from them. Make sure to read Tenacity for yourself.



Interview

  1. How long have you been creating comic books?

    1. I've been drawing comics since the second grade(we're talking crayon drawings haphazardly stapled together) but 2019 was the first year I started making a comic for an online/print format. I first put my work online when TENACITY was officially released in August 2020.

  2. What inspirations did you have behind this project?

    1. I've always been inspired by animation, film, and comics/manga. For a series idea I've had for more than a decade, there was inspiration drawn from almost everywhere along the way, including real life. One of my biggest inspirations was Avatar the Last Airbender.

  3. What are the main themes behind the series?

    1. The themes behind the series: Coping with trauma and discrimination, Found family, Exploring how far someone will go to do the right thing

  4. How do you come up with the characters in your story?

    1. Some characters are based on parts of me, some are loosely based on people I know, and others are made to fill specific roles in the story.

  5. How long are you planning this series to run?

    1. The series will run for several years. I've got a lot planned that I want to do with these characters/story!

  6. Any teasers you want to give your readers?

    1. If you want to see a story about a misfit family with unique powers filled with action, laughs, and drama, this might be the story for you!

  7. Anything else you want your readers to know?

    1. My goal is to give my readers the best experience I can. I'm hoping to make you feel, laugh, and think, the same way that the animation/movies I grew up on did for me. The best thing in life I can ask for is to tell this story I love and to have it be enjoyed by people. This story means a lot to me so it always makes my day to see someone get invested in the story and enjoy reading it!


Support The Creator


About Me


My name is Imani Phillps AKA MaddMoniArt I’m an Artist & Photographer of Realistic Portraits & Sceneries & a Comic Creator myself, currently working on a psychological thriller MANGA called “Bleakville”. (Following the life of a world-famous animal rescuer.)

I’m here to share that creation process. With COMIC TIPS, TECHNIQUES, INTERVIEWS, with creators, and REVIEWS of INDIE WEBCOMICS and MANGA that YOU PROBABLY NEVER HEARD OF.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Purple Cyber Monday Sale Announcements W
maddindeis banner.png
Imani Phillips,
artist, designer, creator bleakville, founder of maddindies
me2022.jpeg
Ko-fi_logo_RGB_Outline.png
exclusive merch ad.png
bottom of page