top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaddIndies Creator

INTERVIEW: The Creator Behind CAT CLUB

Get to know the creator behind the comedy, horror, webcomic, Cat Club; created by WoollyPAR.



Synopsis


Rin Nizu was just a lonely high school student who likes cats. One day she gets powers from a strange cat that bit her and she meets a group of girls who call themselves "Cat Club". Rin, desperate for friends, attempts to join. Though she was ignorant to the club's true purpose...



Interview


How long have you been creating comic books?

This is my first comic series, but I've actually worked on some before this. There was my short career as a comic artist in 5th grade, where I mostly made silly little comics with stick figures. And people actually READ those, god knows why, but hey, they like what they like. Think 2 years ago I made a special episode of my JoJo fanfic (Drehe die Kammer) as a manga. The art wasn't very good, it didn't have a lot going on story-wise, and it was a nightmare to make. BUT, I managed to finish the whole episode in under a week and it was a hit on the site I posted it on. I tried really hard to make another episode like that, but I soon learned that making comics is just hard. With Cat Club, I made sure to avoid all the mistakes I made with those first two attempts and so far everything's been running really smoothly! I tend to say this is my first one because it's my first serious and successful attempt at making comics.



What inspirations did you have behind this project?

A lot of manga I've read, mostly. However, a lot of stuff from my own life influences the themes and events of the story. I was actually in the middle of drawing episode 2 when I realized that I don't really know anyone. Friends, family, whoever, I'm never gonna know every single detail about a person. It was a really scary thought that filled me with this almost existential dread. I thought that was perfect. That epiphany gave me the idea for episode 5, which I thumbnailed the details for as soon as I could. I feel like that episode really shaped the central themes of the story. Speaking of which...


What are the main themes behind the series?

My themes are a little all over the place, but it will always come back to trusting and understanding people despite what you may or may not know about them. It's not just about how having friends is better than being alone, I feel like that should be self-evident, it's about how those friendships can be made and maintained, how self-improvement is important to all that.



What do you have to say about a certain character from your series?

It's hard to pick a specific character to say something about... uhhh... Poppu's gonna be a lot of fun to write for in this current arc lol, she's got some stuff going on.


How do you come up with the characters in your story?

All of my characters in one way or another are a reflection of myself. I draw ideas and concepts for characters from other media and people I know, and I put aspects of myself into them to help me better relate to and understand my characters.


How long are you planning this series to run?

I'm planning for it to run for 60 episodes and I'm hoping it doesn't take me longer than 6 years total


SUPPORT THE CREATOR


READ THE STORY HERE:


INSTAGRAM



ABOUT ME

My name is Imani aka MaddMoniArt, I’m the creator of the psychological thriller manga Bleakville, and the founder of MaddIndies, a blog where I review and support independent webcomics. Go behind-the-scenes into the creative process of Art & Comics with me, as I draw stuff, review webcomics, interview other creators, share techniques, and try to create my own manga.




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Purple Cyber Monday Sale Announcements W
maddindeis banner.png
Imani Phillips,
artist, designer, creator bleakville, founder of maddindies
me2022.jpeg
Ko-fi_logo_RGB_Outline.png
exclusive merch ad.png
bottom of page