top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaddIndies Creator

INTERVIEW: The Creator Behind Ignis Somnia

Updated: Oct 21, 2021


A Webtoon about competitive gaming? Get to know the creator behind the

Action, Comedy, webcomic, Ignis Somnia! Art & story by Cosmicnano.


Synopsis

15 years ago, a fighting game was released called Ignis Somnia. There is a massive competitive scene around this game, but that is just one side of the story, in reality, its history is filled with drama and dark secrets. Now, an ordinary young man named Nine goes on to have a fateful encounter with a mysterious man. This encounter would leave a mark on Nine's life and start a chain of events that would unravel the mysterious history of Ignis.



INTERVIEW


How long have you been creating comic books?

I started creating digital comics back in 2017 with my first work which was a comedy series titled Random Comics. I've learned a lot over these past 4 years!


What inspirations did you have behind this project?

The main inspiration behind Ignis Somnia was a documentary released in 2013 titled "The Smash Brothers" which was about super smash brothers melee's competitive scene. Apart from that, series such as My Hero Academia and Jujutsu Kaisen also serve as inspiration.



What are the main themes behind the series?

The main theme is about self-discovery, understanding who you are, what you want in this world, and turning that into a driving force to push you to achieve greater heights.


What do you have to say about a certain character from your series?

Hatori is a character that I wanted to make look cool no matter what he does, this serves to contrast to his mental state. As has been subtly shown throughout the story so far he's actually quite a fragile character. It'll be great to see how he overcomes his mental obstacles.


How do you come up with the characters in your story?

I think it's important to create characters organically. In other words, I think about the world I've set up and built, then I think about what sort of people would these circumstances create.





How long are you planning this series to run?

As a whole, the series will span roughly 600 chapters. Right now we're only scraping the surface of what's to come.


Any teasers you want to give your readers?

We'll be seeing who the top players are in the Ignis Competitive scene in the next 10 chapters, there are some very unique and mysterious characters among them. One of them may have a connection with one of the main characters. Apart from that, we'll take a look at who exactly Jin is soon. Please look forward to it.


Anything else you want your readers to know?

Thank you for reading, I hope my work can continue bringing even a little entertainment to those that read it!


Support The Creator




Instagram: @cosmicnano11



ABOUT ME

My name is Imani aka MaddMoniArt, I’m the creator of the psychological thriller manga Bleakville, and the founder of MaddIndies, a blog where I review and support independent webcomics. Go behind-the-scenes into the creative process of Art & Comics with me, as I draw stuff, review webcomics, interview other creators, share techniques, and try to create my own manga.

Follow me on Instagram @MaddMoniArt

Watch me on YouTube.com/maddmoniart




20 views0 comments
Purple Cyber Monday Sale Announcements W
maddindeis banner.png
Imani Phillips,
artist, designer, creator bleakville, founder of maddindies
me2022.jpeg
Ko-fi_logo_RGB_Outline.png
exclusive merch ad.png
bottom of page